Desktop Site

News & Events


Mr.Ngo,Human Life Design Area, received the Student Presentation Award of the Acoustical Society of Japan.

Mr.Thuan Van NGO, the first yaer doctral student in Akagi lab of Human Life Design Area, received the Student Presentation Award at the 2017 Spring Meeting of the Acoustical Society of Japan.

Since establishment of the Acoustical Society of Japan in 1936, a large number of researchers and engineers from all fields related to "acoustics" have participated in the society, and the current number of members is about 4,300. At the academic conference held in the spring and autumn, to the student who was recognized as having made an excellent paper presentation, "Student Presentation Award" is presented during the next research conference.


■Date Awarded
 September 26,2017

 Acoustic variation of Lombard speech produced in various noise-level environments

 This study aims to investigate acoustic variations for producing Lombard speech under the effect of environmental dynamics. Acoustic features: duration, F0, formants, spectral tilts, and modulation spectrum were extracted from the dataset of speech: -∞ (neutral), 66, 72, 78, 84, and 90 dB (Lombard) noise level. Analysis results show the variations consisting of lengthening vowel duration, increasing and abruptly changing at 84 dB in F0, shifting F1, increasing formant amplitudes, H1-H2 variation, decreasing A1-A3, and lifting modulation spectrum. Those variations are continuously varying with noise level increasing and can be suggested to be related to intelligibility improvements.

 It is my great pleasure and honor to receive the best student presentation award in ASJ Spring meeting. Firstly, I would like to appreciate ASJ, the Acoustic Society of Japan, who gave me the "Best student presentation award". Moreover, I am deeply thankful to Prof. Masato Akagi, who supervises and gives me many instructive comments for my research and the participation of the meeting. It is also to especially thank all members in my laboratory, especially Prof. Masashi Unoki, Doctor Rieko Kubo, Doctor. Daisuke Morikawa, and Doctor Maori Kobayashi for their contributions and advice in my research and rehearsals. This award motivates me to study harder and obtain further results.


October 11,2017